Report and Block Users

Unfortunately, sometimes people are not on their best behavior when they are online. So we make it easy to report them to our staff for review or to simply block them so won't have to interact with them anymore. BUT BE SURE! Once you block them, the only way to unblock them is if you had a conversation with them in your message center. If there was no conversation from before blocking them, there is no way to unblock them. 

Reporting Users

Via our website:

  1. Locate the profile of the user you wish to report.
  2. Click on their profile and scroll to the bottom of their page. 
  3. Below any photos, you should find a red "report" option. 
  4. Click the "report" option. 
  5. Choose the reason you are reporting this user to Roommates.com
  6. Click on the "Report This User" button. This will flag their account for Roommates.com staff to review. 

~OR~

  1. Locate the message from the user you wish to report from the left-hand side of the message center.
  2. Click the red "report" option. 
  3. Choose the reason you are reporting this user to Roommates.com
  4. Click on the "Report This User" button. This will flag their account for Roommates.com staff to review. 

Via our mobile app:

  1. Locate the profile of the user you with to report. 
  2. Tap on their profile.
  3. Tap on the three dots on the top of the page. 
  4. Tap the "Report" option. 

~OR~

  1. Locate the message from the user you wish to report in your messages. 
  2. Tap the three dots in the upper right. 
  3. Tap the "Report" option. 

Blocking a User

Via our website:

  1. Locate the profile of the user you wish to report.
  2. Click on their profile and scroll to the bottom of their page. 
  3. Below any photos, you should find a red "block" option. 
  4. Click the "block" option. 
  5. You will see a pop-up that explains what happens when you block a user. 
  6. Confirm that you wish to block this user by clicking the "Block This User" button. 

~OR~

  1. Locate the message from the user you wish to report from the left-hand side of the message center.
  2. Click the red "block" option. 
  3. You will see a pop-up that explains what happens when you block a user. 
  4. Confirm that you wish to block this user by clicking the "Block This User" button. 
  5. If you have a change of heart, you can navigate back to the conversation you had with them in your message center and there will be an option to unblock them.  

Via our mobile app:

  1. Locate the profile of the user you with to block. 
  2. Tap on their profile.
  3. Tap on the three dots on the top of the page. 
  4. Tap the "Block" option. 

~OR~

  1. Locate the message from the user you wish to block in your messages. 
  2. Tap the three dots in the upper right. 
  3. Tap the "Block" option.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us